Race

Laps: 36

Weather: 18C 100% Rain

Start Position: 20th

Target: 15th

Finish: 19th

Strategy:

Intermediate Start / Change if needed

Best Lap: 1.20.700

I left the strategy to the team to sort as it would be changing depending on the weather.

Sat on the start straight at the back of the pack I knew there was a long race ahead and I knew with the car being set up for dry conditions, this wasn’t going to be easy by any stretch of the imagination.

With the revs kept low I waited for the lights to appear one by one and then… Go!

The first lap being the same as always I took it easy and tried to make as many places as possible. By the exit of the second corner I have moved to 8th and then 7th by the next corner but the car felt slow and sluggish and there was no corner speed at all.

Lap two was the same as we all slotted in to position. At the end of the start finish straight heading in to the first corner on lap three I became blinded in the spray and missed the braking point moving me all the way down to 13th position.

By lap 6 the tyre wear was already kicking in and I was losing 1.5-2.0 seconds a lap but getting hounded by the cars behind me.

At the end of lap 6 I posted my personal best time of 1.22.300 which would suggest the track was getting a little better but honestly the car felt rubbish.

12th place was soon a distant challenge and I was still being pressured by 14th, 15th and 16th place.

On lap 9, still in 13th I posted another PB of 1.21.700 and by lap 10 I was 23 seconds behind the car in front.

Lap 11, Chilton retired from the race which didn’t help me but left 21 cars on the track.

By lap 16 the tyres were going and on the last corner I made a mistake knocking me down to 15th but managed to keep the slip stream and move back to 13th on the first corner of lap 17.

Lap 18 was as far as I could go and so I pitted to put a fresh set of Inters on the Force India. I was 13th on entry to the pits and even though it was a 2.5 second pit stop I still came out in 14th.

On lap 20 the new tyres proved to be working as I posted a new PB of 1.20.700.

The order stayed the same with me struggling in 14th. On lap 27 I spun on the first corner hitting the wet curb which dropped me to 15th. I then hit the wet curb again half way round and spun the car leaving me 17th.

To my annoyance I spun the car for a third time dropping me to 18th on lap 28. By this time I had thrown in the towel and just wanted to get to the end of the race.

On lap 31 I made yet another mistake putting me 19th which is where I stayed until the end of the race. A very poor result which neither the team or I was happy with.

Hamilton added to his tally of wins with Rosberg second and Riccardo in the Red Bull in 3rd. Team mate Hulkenberg managed to bring the car home in 6th proving yet again he is the number one driver for now.

  1. Hamilton – 156 (Up 1)
  2. Rosberg – 151 (Down 1)
  3. Vettel – 105 (-)
  4. Ricciardo – 81 (Up 1)
  5. Alonso – 73 (Down 1)
  6. Raikkonen – 56 (-)
  7. Magnussen – 48 (-)
  8. Hulkenberg – 42 (-)
  9. Button – 41 (-)
  10. Massa – 33 (-)

The construction championship looks like this.

  1. Mercedes – 307
  2. Red Bull – 186
  3. Ferrari – 179
