Practice

Weather: 20C Dry/Cloud

Best Prime: 1:13.725 (Rich Fuel)

S1 – 19.173

S2 – 31.802

S3 – 22.751

Best Option: N/A

S1 – N/A

S2 – N/A

S3 – N/A

This is first time Ive ever ran this track so I set the car up which was a difficult choice between Qualifying and Race pace. I made the choice to run a full dry set up, did it work? Read on to find out.

I took the car out on Prime tyres and took around 6 laps to get used to the braking points and apex of each corner. After that I ran a couple of faster laps and managed to put in a 1.13.725 which was a total of 3 seconss slower than Hamilton in 1st who posted a 1.10.712. My time put me in 18th, on primes so wasnt too bad.

I was able to complete the R&D which was to run 3 laps on worn tyres. This gave me the upgrade of 5% Brake Responsivness. Hopefully something that will help improve lap times in the following races.

Qualifying

Weather: 25C Sunny/Dry

Target: 15th

Best Q1: 1.12.479

S1 – N/A

S2 – N/A

S3 – N/A

Best Q2: N/A

S1 – N/A

S2 – N/A

S3 – N/A

Qualifying Position: 20th

With the results from practice I thought I would be able to get through on Primes. So I took a brand new set of Prime tyres and went out on low fuel to run 3 flying laps. I set the fuel to heavy mix and could only manage a 1.13.185 which was at best, 19th.

I needed to improve so with a fresh set of Options I headed back out. I struggled for overall pace both in the corners and straights. The best I could manage was a 1.12.479 which was a second slower than I needed to get to Q2 and left me in 20th.

A tough race ahead.

