Race

Laps: 39

Weather: 23C Sun / Dry

Start Position: 22nd

Target: 14th

Finish: 15th

Stratergy:

Start Tyre – Prime

Lap 23 – Option

Best Lap: N/A

Starting in last position meant there was such a hard job lying in front of me if myself and the team were to get anything out of the weekend.

With the lights counting down the race got under way and within the first couple of corners I had muscled my way up to 12th position.

Just a couple of laps in and the car was giving a lot of understeer when accelerating out of corners which wasnt helping to get the power down.

By lap 7 even the prime tyres were showing signs of wear which was worrying considering we were going to lap 23 on this set.

By just lap 10 I was 21 seconds behind Button in 11th and was starting to hold up a queue of 5 cars behind me.

On lap 11 both Massa and Alonso from infront of me but come out still ahead of me having started on Option tyres.

By lap 16 everyone had pit that was on the Option tyres and I hadnt gained any places as a result of the pit stops.

Lap 23 soon came around and I dived in to the pits, with the tyres on their last legs, in 12th position. A simple and quick stop put me back out in 17th on the fast Option tyre.

Being on the faster tyre I was able to catch and pass just two cars which pushed me to 15th, 1 place behind my target but unfortunately ran out of time to gain any further places.

Struggling with the Force India once again with Hamilton and Rosberg making it another Mercedes 1-2 and Hulkenberg showing the car is capable with a 4th position.

 

