Race

Laps: 29

Weather: 26C Sunny / Dry

Start Position: 22nd

Finish: 16th

Stratergy:

Start Tyre – Prime

Lap 12 – Option

Lap 20 – Option

Best Lap: 1:31:387

The first race of the season got underway at the glorious Melbourne. I had an absolute mammoth of a task to get anywhere I needed to be in order to be happy. The team set a target of 12th to finish. I personally wanted to start the season off with at least a point.

The first lap, always an interesting one in which I managed to get up to 12th by the end of the first lap. The pace didnt last though as 11th place was increasing the gap by over 1 second a lap. The cars behind me started to bunch up too and we were under immense pressure for the first sprint.

By the time the first stop came around I was wondering around in 13th. I managed to keep the tyres 2 laps longer to pit on lap 14 and change to Options.

Still struggling, we didnt make any positions and came in again on lap 21 for the second and final stop. We changed to a brand new set of Options and went flat out for the final stint of the race. The tyres went off alot quicker this time around and with 3 laps to go they were more or less done. I dropped down from 13th to 16th to end the race rather unhappy with the car.

Even more disheartening was to see my team mate finish in 6th!

The top 1o looked like this at the end of the race.

  1. Rosberg
  2. Raikkonen
  3. Alonso
  4. Magnussen
  5. Ricciardo
  6. Hulkenberg
  7. Vettel
  8. Massa
  9. Hamilton
  10. Kvyat

So the points table after the first round looks like this.

 

  1. Rosberg – 25
  2. Raikkonen – 18
  3. Alonso – 15
  4. Magnussen – 12
  5. Ricciardo – 10
  6. Hulkenberg – 8
  7. Vettel – 6
  8. Massa – 4
  9. Hamilton – 2
  10. Kvyat – 1

 

 

