I love going to the cinema but I don’t think I will be going again any time soon.

It had been a while since my last visit where we went to watch Tarrantinos The H8teful Eight. A film I struggled to enjoy, but I’m not going to go in to detail about that now.

I’m not that much of a social able person. I enjoy my own company. Well my own, my girlfriends I guess the two cats. But Monday we arranged to go to the cinema with a couple of friends from work.

Now I’m not here to review the film. I will give my two pence on it but don’t take anything I say as gospel. What I wanted to talk about is the astonishing cost of this hour and a half and how much it has gone up from when I was younger… I’m only 25 now!

BN2

We went to see Bad Neighbours 2. The follow on from Bad Neighbours (obviously). Some rather big names, especially with regards to the comical side of things starring Seth Rogen, Dave Franco and Zac Efron back from the first film. There are also other big names like Selena Gomez (albeit for 2 minutes), Rose Bryne and Chloe Grace Moretz.

Like I say, I’m not going to review the film but if you have seen and enjoy the first one, go and see the new one. Its more or less the same, but with a sorority rather than a fraternity. Full of crude jokes, laughs and fun all the way through. Not much of a “story” as such but a fantastic film if that is your thing. You know, one of those kind of things you don’t need to think about, just watch, laugh and leave!

BN1

A couple of reviews can be found here if you want to have a read up on it. I think they have been a bit harsh on the film to be honest. It’s a laugh, I don’t laugh at much and this got me going.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4438848/

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/neighbors_2_sorority_rising/

But that’s not what I wanted to write about, so moving on!

BN3

Back when I was younger we were able to go to the cinema for £2-£3 each, a cheap night and one that we repeated weekly purely because it was enjoyable but affordable at the same time.

But things have changed.

Walking in to the cinema building, the “main lobby” if you like, everything is not as it used to be. It’s quiet, derelict almost. There’s the odd person trickling through the doors, just two members of staff visible in the whole building. But then I look at the price board and know exactly why it is why it is.

Bearing in mind I used to pay £2-£3 for a ticket I was absolutely shocked at the price of the tickets now.

£10.20 for one adult. That is £20.40 for a couple. Then add the mandatory cinema drink and popcorn that adds to the experience and you round the price to £30.

That’s £30 for 1.5 hours of film. I personally think that is outrageous and I can easily see why the building is empty. For that price I could buy the DVD, a meal for two and snacks to eat during the film.

I understand that it costs the cinema money to run the films, pay staff etc but I think the price of things now-a-days is one of the main reason it’s always so empty, well that’s what I think anyway.

Still, a great night out with great friends. It’s just a shame its costs as much as it does otherwise we could do it more often.

 

 

 

