Well it’s been a slow week… it normally is at the start of the world…

If you haven’t played this game, or don’t like it… the following may be a load of boring gibberish… You have been warned…

So it turns out I first started this game 6 years ago – And apparently that classes as an achievement.

I’ve come in the this world a month after it started so I’ve unfortunately dealt myself with quite a crappy hand. However I will continue to play and hopefully will be able to work something on this world, I mean it is still early days…

One thing I have found out, even after playing for just a week is the amount of people that seem to be able to just pay to get to the top of the table. So you can buy premium points and then use those premium points for in game boosts. Fair enough, I mean I know all games are made for a commercial reason otherwise why else make them but to make it this easy to just buy the lead is a little… well frustrating for those that either can’t afford to do so, or that like to play the game for what it is.

TW8

Still… it’s just a game and I won’t moan about it… much…

Although it has just been my first week playing, I have noticed a few things that I can’t quite understand.

People that join… and quit…

I know there are some people that pick a game up, don’t like it and then don’t play it again… that’s not a problem. But I have found myself surrounded by inactive players, that have not grown at all since joining. So what has basically happened is they have dropped everything they were doing, signed up, logged on and then thought “ahhh actually I need to do the dishes” and have never been seen since… like the very last Ferro Roche… gone…

This isn’t an issue, I mean the more inactive players around me that I have, the more I can use them to grow my own village… but still… it does seem a little strange how many people literally start and stop within seconds of joining…

Anyway…

I’ve found the first week very slow, it normally is in this game. Basically the idea is you have your own resource pits (clay, wood and tin) that gain resources hourly but to speed everything up you need to “farm” or raid other villages… so I’ve spent the last week doing just this. A tedious and repetitive job but unfortunately it is the basis of growing quickly.

On a positive note…

The area I started in seems to be out of the way, on the border. Plenty of empty villages to farm and seems to be out of the way of any attacks… for now…

In the meantime I’ve been accepted in to a growing tribe. I’ve not got to know them well enough to comment on them but they seem screwed on, knowledgeable and willing to work together, definitely what is needed as there are so many tribes out there that, well, don’t have a single clue when it comes to managing a group a 50 people…

The game has a little quest feature – Basically it sets you certain tasks you need to complete and completing them earns you a small resource reward. Usually the reward is a fraction of what you actually spend to get the reward but seems as though eventually you will be levelling those certain building or building certain troops, it’s worthwhile doing the small quests, especially when you are a new player as this will help you move on in the right direction and everyone loves a quest… Don’t they?

TW6

One thing that has changed that I’m finding quite fun to monitor is the “In A Day” hi-scores in which it monitors certain aspects of the game and the highest for the day such as villages conquered, resources plundered and troops defeated in the day. By all means I’m nowhere near the top of any of the scoreboards but it helps to monitor your own scores and it’s fun to try and beat your daily record! It gives me something to work towards during the early stages.

TW7

The next week is going to be more of the same, more farming, more farming, more farming and a little more farming and just push and push to build as quick as possible. Being in a tribe is helping – it shouldn’t be it does. I think people see you in a tribe and daren’t attack you, but I don’t think they know that Im only a new player on a big word and if I was attacked at this stage I probably wouldn’t be protected since Im a small fish in a very big pond…

So that’s more or less this week’s gaming in a nutshell, not much to report on to be honest but hopefully, within the next week the growth should be much better and there should be more to report on…

Maybe…

